These images are courtesy of the American Air Museum in Britain, part of the Imperial War Museums, (www.americanairmuseum.com)
On Rogation Sunday, May 23rd 2021, and organised and led by Gill Butterworth, a group of Hadstock residents ‘beat the bounds’ and walked 7.5 miles round the Parish boundary as part of the 1020-2020 Millennium celebrations. Starting on Linton Road near the zoo, the group walked anticlockwise, had a lunch break in Nunn Wood, and finished in the Grip at Linton.
This illustration was created by Richard Dolby from drawings held by the Imperial War Museum and shows the locations of the airfield’s main facilities in 1944.
‘Landscape History of Hadstock Parish, 1777-2020 – Part 1: Boundaries, Roads, Woods, and Paths’ by Richard Dolby
Explore the changes in Parish landscape over the last 250 years. This is Part 1 of a series of illustrations and accompanying notes about Hadstock landscape history, and highlights the impact of the railways arriving in 1865 and the siting of the WW2 USAAF airfield in 1942.