These images are courtesy of the American Air Museum in Britain, part of the Imperial War Museums, (www.americanairmuseum.com)
This illustration was created by Richard Dolby from drawings held by the Imperial War Museum and shows the locations of the airfield’s main facilities in 1944.
The Control Tower was the focal point of the USAAF Station 165. Pilots and ground staff would come together at the Tower and watch anxiously as their friends left and returned from dangerous bomber and fighter missions into occupied France. Sadly, not all the aircraft that left the airfield would return.
The airfield and its American military community had a significant impact on life in Hadstock, and brought the local residents closer to the daily conflict of the war. Today, The Control Tower is a private home, and the owners are collating as much information as they can about the wartime history of the airfield. Visit their website here to see the photos, artefacts and other information they have gathered so far.
‘Landscape History of Hadstock Parish, 1777-2020 – Part 1: Boundaries, Roads, Woods, and Paths’ by Richard Dolby
Explore the changes in Parish landscape over the last 250 years. This is Part 1 of a series of illustrations and accompanying notes about Hadstock landscape history, and highlights the impact of the railways arriving in 1865 and the siting of the WW2 USAAF airfield in 1942.
Extracted from Susan Mackay and Roy Swann’s book “To stand and stare” which describes life in Hadstock in the middle twentieth century, this article is a lovely insight into Hadstock life during the building and operation of United States Army Airforce (USAAF) Station 165 between 1942 and 1946.